How To Get Money from a Houston Car Accident Without a Lawyer

How To Get Money from a Houston Car Accident Without a Lawyer

Many people think they can handle their car accident in Houston claim on their own. That is until they run into issues. Many times, trying to get money on your own after a Houston car accident is a mistake. 

However, if you weren’t injured and only need to worry about a simple property claim or minimal medical expenses, you might be able to handle the claim without a lawyer. 

But if you run into issues, do not hesitate to reach out to Attorney Brian White Personal Injury Lawyers for help with your claim. Contact our Houston, Texas law office for a free consultation if you have questions or need assistance at (713) 500-5000.

How Our Houston Car Accident Lawyers Can Help With Your Claim 

How Our Houston Car Accident Lawyers Can Help With Your Claim 

The Houston personal injury attorneys at Attorney Brian White Personal Injury Lawyers have over 45 years of combined legal experience. 

We can assist with all aspects of your personal injury claim, including:

  • Investigating your claim and identifying all at-fault parties
  • Explaining your legal rights during a free initial consultation 
  • Gathering and preserving evidence to support your claim
  • Handling communications with insurance companies and defendants on your behalf 
  • Filing an insurance claim
  • Determining the full extent of your damages
  • Negotiating for fair compensation of your claim 
  • Taking your case to court if a reasonable settlement cannot be reached

You can reach our compassionate and knowledgeable Houston car accident attorneys by calling us today for a free case review. 

How To Handle Your Own Car Accident Claim in Houston, TX

There are many things that go into filing a car accident claim, including:

  • Seeking medical attention – It is important that you seek prompt medical attention. One reason is so that you can begin receiving medical treatment. Another is so that your medical records can connect your injuries and the car accident. 
  • Reporting the accidentTexas law requires you to report any accident you are involved in that results in injury, death, or property damage of more than $1,000. Having a law enforcement officer respond to the scene can also help ensure that an objective investigation is undertaken. You will also need to get a copy of the police report once it is prepared. 
  • Documenting the scene – Accident scenes will need to be cleaned up soon after they occur because they can pose a risk to others. Documenting the scene may involve taking pictures of the accident scene, property damage, and your injuries, interviewing witnesses, preserving electronic data or physical evidence, and getting information from the other driver. This could be hard to do if you suffered serious injuries in the accident. 
  • Establishing liability – Texas is an at-fault state for auto insurance. This means that the person who was at fault for the accident is responsible for the financial losses you suffered. This could require researching traffic laws and showing how the other driver was negligent.  
  • Determining the value of your case – You may have the right to compensation for your medical expenses, property damage, and lost wages. While these losses are relatively straightforward, have you thought about what type of medical treatment you may need in the future? What happens if you are unable to return to work? You could also be entitled to non-economic losses, such as pain and suffering. Do you know how to quantify these damages?
  • Resolving medical liens – If your insurance initially paid for your medical expenses, your providers may have placed medical liens on any possible recovery you receive. You will need to resolve such liens and will be responsible for paying for them out of any settlement you receive. 
  • Negotiating with the insurance company – You may demand compensation from the insurance company, but it may deny your claim or make a low offer. 
  • Filing a personal injury lawsuit – If the insurance company does not make a settlement offer you agree to, you can file a lawsuit, which comes with its own unique rules and requirements. 

If this seems like a lot, you might prefer to work with an experienced car accident lawyer in Houston who can handle all of the above responsibilities on your behalf.  

Common Mistakes People Make When Handling Their Own Car Accident Claims

Many people who try to handle their own accident claims make the following mistakes that can damage their ability to recover fair compensation:

They Give a Recorded Statement To the Insurance Company

It is common for insurance adjusters to contact accident victims shortly after an accident. They may even tell them that a recorded statement is necessary before a settlement can be made. However, recorded statements are typically only used to find anything to use against the claimant to deny or reduce the value of the claim. 

They Accept an Offer Too Soon

After an accident, victims may have medical bills pile up. They may be out of work and anxious to get money to catch up. Accordingly, they may accept an insurance offer too soon before they realize the extent of their damages and how the accident will affect them. 

Insurance companies know this and may try to take advantage of victims by making fast, lowball offers. Victims should have a clear understanding of the value of their case before settling it. 

They Accept “No” for an Answer

Insurance companies may deny claims for many reasons, but these denials are not always valid. 

They Think the Insurance Company Is Their Friend 

Many claimants believe that the insurance company is their friend and looking out for their best interests. However, this is not usually the case. Insurance companies are for-profit companies who are interested in maximizing their profits by denying or minimizing claims as much as possible. 

They Miss Deadlines

Texas law typically only gives you two years after a car accident to file a lawsuit against the at-fault party. If you miss this deadline, your case can be dismissed, and you can lose your right to recover compensation.

When Do You Need a Houston Car Accident Lawyer?

There are some times when you may really need a lawyer’s assistance, such as:

  • You suffered serious injuries
  • You have to take time off work
  • The other party is denying responsibility 
  • The insurance company has denied your claim 
  • The insurance company is trying to blame you for the accident

Attorney Brian White Personal Injury Lawyers is here to help with your claim. 

Contact Our Houston Car Accident Attorneys If You Need Help or Have Questions

If you were injured in a car accident that was not your fault, Attorney Brian White Personal Injury Lawyers can explain how we can help. We can explain your legal rights and options during a free case review. Because we work on a contingency fee basis, you are not charged any attorney fees unless and until we recover compensation for you. Contact us today to learn more.