Houston Uninsured Motorist Claims Lawyer
Did you recently get into a car accident in Houston with a driver who did not have a valid auto insurance policy? If so, you might be able to recover some compensation. The experienced lawyers at Attorney Brian White Personal Injury Lawyers, have over 45 years of combined experience helping injury victims get the money they deserve.
We offer a free consultation, so give us a call today at (713) 500-5000 to schedule a time to discuss your case with one of our attorneys in Houston.
How Our Personal Injury Lawyers Can Help You After a Crash With an Uninsured Driver in Houston
At Attorney Brian White Personal Injury Lawyers we are committed to standing up for the people of Houston when they need it most. So, if you ask for a car accident lawyer to help you fight for compensation after an accident with an uninsured motorist, we will:
Help You Understand Your Legal Options
When you get into an accident with an uninsured driver, you may know that it is possible to claim compensation for your medical bills and other expenses. However, you might not fully understand the routes you can take to recover the financial restitution you deserve.
Fortunately, when you work our legal team, you won’t need to figure out your legal options alone. As soon as you hire us, we will sit down, review your case, and help you understand the best paths forward.
Process Your Claims Paperwork
As you might expect, the process of claiming compensation after a collision with an uninsured driver in the state of Texas can require quite a lot of paperwork. From filing petitions with the court to requesting evidence from third parties, the list of tasks to complete can seem never-ending.
Of course, when you hire our team you won’t need to spend time filling in and mailing out reams of legal forms. Our skilled attorneys, paralegals, and administrative assistants will handle it all on your behalf – freeing you to focus on following your doctor’s orders and recovering from your injury.
Argue on Your Behalf at Trial
Depending on the circumstances surrounding your accident with an uninsured driver, your pursuit of financial restitution may go to court. There, a judge will review the details of your collision and your injury before deciding how much (if any) compensation you should receive.
Over the years, our attorneys have represented numerous clients in courtrooms throughout the state of Texas. As such, we know how to argue a case in a clear, concise, and convincing manner. When you hire us, we will use our knowledge to try to secure a favorable trial verdict for you.
As one of the leading personal injury law firms in Houston, TX, Attorney Brian White Personal Injury Lawyers has helped countless clients seek financial restitution after collisions with uninsured motorists.
If you would like to have us do the same for you, reach out to us today and schedule a free consultation with one of our experienced attorneys.
Uninsured Drivers in Houston – Understanding the Problem
In the state of Texas, when a motorist collides with another vehicle, they are legally responsible for any damages that ensue. Because of this rule, the Lone Star State mandates that all drivers must carry an auto insurance policy with the following minimum limits:
- Bodily injury coverage of $30,000 per person
- Bodily injury coverage of $60,000 per accident
- Property damage coverage of $25,000 per accident
Those who drive without insurance in Texas can face fines and have their license suspended. Nevertheless, the experts at the Insurance Information Institute estimate that around 14.1 percent of drivers in the Lone Star State are not insured.
When these motorists get into accidents with other drivers, their victims often have trouble recovering the compensation they require to cover their medical bills, vehicle repair costs, and other expenses. As a result, they frequently end up covering these costs out of their own pocket.
We do not want you to have to deal with this nightmare scenario. So, if you sustained an injury in a collision with an uninsured motorist in Houston, please do not hesitate to give us a call. Our team is ready, willing, and able to help you fight for the financial restitution you deserve.
How to Recover Compensation After an Accident with an Uninsured Driver
When Houston motorists get into collisions with uninsured drivers, they often believe that there is nothing they can do to recover the compensation they need to pay their bills. In reality, however, most injured parties have two options for pursuing financial restitution:
Filing a Personal Injury Lawsuit
In Texas, the fact that a driver does not carry a valid auto insurance policy does not mean that they can walk away from a crash without compensating the other party. They are still financially liable for the victim’s healthcare costs and vehicle repair bills.
Of course, most uninsured motorists will not willingly send money to the other party. Thus, individuals who suffer injuries at the hands of a driver that did not have a valid insurance policy must typically file a personal injury lawsuit if they are to recover the compensation they need and deserve.
Most uninsured motorist personal injury lawsuits follow this timeline:
- Initial Filing: The injured party submits a petition to the court.
- Discovery: Both parties exchange documents, photographs, and other evidentiary materials.
- Settlement Negotiation: Both parties sit down and attempt to hammer out a fair settlement deal.
- Trial: If the parties cannot agree to a settlement, the suit will go to trial, and a judge will decide how much restitution the victim should receive.
Given the many complexities of the legal process, it is generally wise for plaintiffs to hire an experienced injury attorney to represent them.
Filing an Uninsured Motorist Claim
Injured parties who do not wish to pursue a personal injury lawsuit against the driver who caused their accident may be able to recover compensation through an uninsured motorist claim with their insurer.
In the state of Texas, insurance companies must include uninsured motorist coverage in every policy they sell – unless their customer notifies them that they do not want it. As such, the vast majority of drivers on the road in the Lone Star State carry this coverage.
The process of recovering compensation by filing an uninsured motorist claim is as follows:
- Initial Filing: The injured party files a claim with their insurance company.
- Evidence Submission: The policyholder submits evidence of their accident and their injuries to their insurer.
- Settlement: The insurance company sends its policyholder the funds they need to pay their bills.
Unfortunately, insurers do not always make the process of claiming compensation through uninsured motorist coverage as simple as it ought to be. It is not at all unusual for insurance companies to deny and delay valid claims in an effort to boost their bottom line.
The best way for policyholders to reduce their odds of having issues with their insurance company is to hire a skilled attorney to provide them with legal advice and help them file their claims.
Would you like to have the skilled car accident lawyers from the law firm of Attorney Brian White Personal Injury Lawyers help you file a personal injury lawsuit or file a claim with your insurance company? If so, please give us a call and set up a free consultation at our law office in Houston, Texas, at your earliest convenience.
Statute of Limitations for Uninsured Motorist Claims in the State of Texas
The statute of limitations for uninsured motorist claims in Texas depends on the route the injured party intends to take to recover their compensation:
Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Lawsuits
Texas Civil Practice & Remedies Code section 16.003 states that the statute of limitations for personal injury suits in the Lone Star State is two years. This rule means that people who get into car crashes with uninsured drivers must file a petition with the court before the second anniversary of their crash.
Statute of Limitations for Uninsured Motorist Claims
Texas Civil Practice & Remedies Code section 16.004 explains that the statute of limitations for contract disputes in the Lone Star State is four years. When insurance companies deny valid uninsured or underinsured motorist claims, victims can take legal action at any time until this deadline passes.
Do you need some help filing a lawsuit or insurance claim before your statutory window closes? Then please do not hesitate to reach out to our injury lawyers today. We are always ready, willing, and able to assist our friends and neighbors here in Houston.
The Premier Car Wreck Lawyers in Houston, Texas
Over the years, the attorneys at Attorney Brian White Personal Injury Lawyers have helped the people of Houston recover financial restitution after everything from collisions with uninsured drivers to hit-and-run accidents, rear-end collisions, and rollover crashes. If you would like to have us stand up and fight for you, all you need to do is pick up the phone and give us a call.