Houston Motorcycle Licensing Requirements Lawyer
Do you need more info about Houston motorcycle licensing requirements?
Then you have come to the right place. The skilled Houston motorcycle accident lawyers at Attorney Brian White Personal Injury Lawyers have compiled the following breakdown of all the facts you need to know. Contact Attorney Brian White Personal Injury Lawyers at (713) 500-5000.
Table of Contents
What License Must Houston Residents Possess to Ride a Motorcycle?
The road traffic laws in Texas explain that individuals who wish to operate a motorcycle on a public highway must possess a Class M license.
Before Houston residents can get one of these permits, they must earn a regular driver’s license.
Understanding the Process of Earning a Motorcycle License in Texas
The steps Texans must follow to get a Class M license are as follows:
Motorcycle Safety Class
Anyone who wants to earn a Class M driver’s license in the state of Texas must take a motorcycle class that is certified by the Department of Public Safety. These courses teach people the basics of riding a motorcycle and help them understand how to deal with hazardous situations.
New riders who take these classes almost always spend more than three hours operating a motorcycle in a controlled environment. They also have to spend quite a lot of time in an on-site classroom.
Individuals who have a motorcycle license from another state do not have to take one of these safety courses.
Motorcycle Road Test
Once Houston residents finish the motorcycle safety class, they may take their certificate of completion to the Department of Public Safety office in their area. There, they will have to take a road test to prove their ability to operate a motorcycle in a safe manner.
The state of Texas regularly waives this testing requirement for riders that are more than 18 years of age. Riders who think they may not have to take this test should call ahead to confirm.
People who pass their motorcycle road test must also take a written exam before they can receive their Class M license. To pass this test, they must demonstrate a comprehensive knowledge of Texas motorcycle laws.
Riders who complete their written exam successfully may then take their documentation to a clerk, who will issue them a Class M license.
Do Motorcycle Riders in the State of Texas Have to Wear a Helmet?
Most people who want to ride a motorcycle in Texas without ending up on the wrong side of the police must wear a helmet that meets Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 218.
The Lone Star State offers an exemption to its helmet laws to people who:
- Are at least 21 years of age
- Have passed an approved motorcycle safety course, and
- Have at least $10,000 in medical insurance
Generally speaking, though, riders who want to reduce their risk of losing their lives or getting injured in a motorcycle collision should wear a helmet at all times – even if they have an exemption.
What Should Houston Residents Do After a Motorcycle Accident?
The state of Texas created its licensing laws to keep motorcycle riders as safe as possible on the road. Nevertheless, a plethora of Houstonians get into motorcycle accidents every year.
If you want to safeguard your health and financial future after a motorcycle wreck, it’s important to:
Seek Medical Attention
In the aftermath of a motorcycle accident, the health and wellbeing of the involved parties should be everyone’s top priority. Motorcyclists that need immediate attention should call for an ambulance as soon as possible.
People who cannot use their phones can have somebody else call on their behalf.
Call the Insurance Company
Once all parties have received the medical care they need, motorcyclists should report the accident to their insurer. During this call, they will need to tell the representative:
- When the crash happened
- Where the accident occurred, and
- Whether the collision involved any other parties
Policyholders should usually avoid straying from these topics if they want to avoid telling their insurer something they could use to deny their claim.
Call the Police
Once motorcyclists finish talking to their insurer, they should next make a call to the police. They will send an officer to the scene to write a detailed crash report.
Riders may need to use this document as evidence if they wish to file suit against the other motorist.
Contact an Attorney
When motorcycle riders finish talking to the police, there is one more call they should make – to an experienced personal injury attorney. Their legal representative can help them deal with the aftermath of their crash by:
- Conducting an investigation into the cause of the crash
- Communicating with insurance companies on their behalf
- Helping them understand their legal options
- Providing them with honest answers to their legal questions
- Filling in and filing documents with the court on their behalf
- Searching for evidence to use in their personal injury lawsuit
- Helping them understand how the legal process works
- Consulting with relevant experts about their case
- Negotiating a settlement with the other party’s insurer
- Arguing on their behalf in court, if necessary
Most personal injury attorneys in the state of Texas offer free case evaluations.
Your Experienced Houston Motorcycle Accident Law Firm
Do you need a knowledgeable Houston motorcycle accident lawyer to help you file a suit against another road user or give you more info about the process of earning a Class M permit? Then please contact Attorney Brian White Personal Injury Lawyers at your earliest convenience. Our law firm has the legal skills and experience required to offer you the assistance you seek.